Jun 22, 2021

COPE summons SriLankan, SLIC

Several institutions including SriLankan Airlines and Sri Lanka Insurance Corporation have been summoned before the Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE).

SriLankan Airlines, Sri Lanka Insurance Corporation and several other institutions have been summoned to appear before the COPE, said its Chairman Prof. Charitha Herath.

The decision was taken at the special COPE committee meeting held in Parliament today (22). The meeting was held to decide on regarding how future meetings should be held in the midst of COVID-19 as COPE Committee meetings could not be held as usual.

Accordingly, the committee members agreed to summon SriLankan Airlines on July 06th and Sri Lanka Insurance Corporation on July 07th before the COPE Committee to review the current context of the relevant institutions.

It is also expected to inquire into the current status of Litro Gas Lanka Company and Litro Gas Terminal Lanka Company under the Sri Lanka Insurance Corporation. In addition, the committee members agreed to summon institutions which could not be summoned previously starting from the 08th of July.

The COPE Committee also focused on the Mahapola Higher Education Scholarship Trust Fund, which is currently under the Mahapola Trust Fund which has been proposed to be taken up in Parliament for debate.

In addition, the methodology for holding COPE Committee meetings in line with health regulations in the face of the prevailing COVID situation was also taken into discussion.

Accordingly, 06 officials the Chairman of the relevant Government institution, officials in charge of institutional accounts as well as the respective Secretary to the relevant Ministry of which the government institution is affiliated to, are scheduled to be summoned before the Committee whilst attention will be given in having the other officials connect through a digital platform.

Ministers - Mahinda Amaraweera and Sarath Weerasekara as well as State Ministers - Susil Premajayantha, Indika Anuruddha Herath and D. V. Chanaka attended the COPE meeting. It was also joined by parliamentarians - Rauff Hakeem, Jagath Pushpakumara, Anura Kumara Dissanayake, Eran Wickramaratne, Harsha de Silva, Nalin Bandara and S M Marikkar.