Dec 23, 2017

SriLankan Director board hands in resignations! Featured

The entire Sri Lankan Airlines Board of Directors, except for one, had handed in their letters of resignation to the subject Minister Kabir Hashim, 'Sri Lanka Mirror' reliably learns.

The Directors of Sri Lankan Airlines headed by its Chairman Ajith Dias, Rakhitha Jayawardena, Chanaka de Silva, Joseph Rajan Britto, Niranjan de Silva Deva Adithya, Mahinda Haradas and Executive Director Sunil Peiris had handed in their letters of resignation in the event the government sees them as an obstacle to its intended restructuring of the airline.

However, Director Harendra Balapatabendi has not tendered in his resignation so far.

The Prime Minister had appointed a Cabinet level committee for the supervision of the modernisation of Sri Lankan Airlines while another committee comprising the highest level state officials is also currently operational.

Meanwhile, the Japan Airlines has also expressed interest in purchasing Sri Lankan Airlines.

A special advisor has been appointed to look into this proposal, while the government has notified him to submit his suggestions and recommendations before January 20th.