Sep 13, 2019

State literary award for Virajini’s Makaranda

The Presidential awards ceremony held in recognition of authors and journalists who have contributed to enrich the Sri Lankan literary field was held at the BMICH yesterday (12).

Many prominent writers who contributed in 2018 received awards at this event yesterday.

In addition, three once in a lifetime awards were presented to three journalists in the Sinhala, Tamil and English literary fields  for their valuable contribution. Professor Walter Marasinghe received the award in the Sinhala stream, Ayyathu Raisaanthan for the Tamil medium and Kamala Wijayaratne received the award for the English medium.

The award for the best Sinhala novel was presented to Virajini Tennakoon for her novel ‘Makarandaya’.

The award for the best English novel went to Elmo Jayawardena for his novel ‘Kakiyan’.

The award for the best Tamil novel went to S.A. Udayan for his novel ‘Aluwakare’.

The literary award for the best poetry compilation went to Nandana Weerasinghe for his ‘kshaniyama’.

This annual event is organised by the State Literary Advisory Board, Sri Lanka Arts Board, Cultural Affairs Department and the Cultural Affairs Ministry.

Many dignitaries and artistes attended the event including the Minister of Cultural Affairs Sajith Premadasa.