Dec 17, 2021

Jaya Sri prevented from singing 20 iconic songs

An injunction order has been issued by the Colombo Commercial High Court Judge Priyantha Fernando today preventing the band known as 'Jayasri' from performing 20 songs written by singer and musician Aruna Liyan.

These banned list include Prarthana, Sudu Adhimin Sari Muwa Hasarelle, Mod Goviya, Adara Lowe Api Hamunu, Siumali, Shila, Sundariye Gomariye, Maa Monkey Hanumantha, which were identified as iconic Jayasri songs.

However, the order was issued to Rohan Jayalath and Rohitha Jayalath from performing the songs on the internet, as well as in concerts, and be used as phone ringin tones.

The case is set to be taken up again 31 December 2021.

(Hiru News)