Dec 16, 2016

Sarasaviya awards held after 8 years

The Sarasaviya Film Awards were held yesterday (15) at the Nelum Pokuna Theatre in Colombo after a lapse of eight years.

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe attended as the chief guest of the event which was organized by the Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd. (ANCL) and its weekly newspaper featuring cinema, the Sarasaviya.

Media Minister Gayantha Karunathilaka, Law and Order Minister Sagala Ratnayaka, Parliamentary Reforms and Mass Media Deputy Minister Karu Paranawithana, Social Empowerment and Welfare Deputy Minister Ranjan Ramanayaka were among the distinguished guests who attended the ceremony. Former Editors of the Sarasaviya were also present.

The awards were given in seven stages and all in all, 24 awards were handed out to the actors, actresses , producers, directors, music directors, make-up artistes, film editors, sound editors, vocalists among other categories.

The Best Actor Award went to Jackson Anthony for his role of Elara, in Maharaja Gemunu, while the Best Actress was Anjali Patil, a Hindi actress for her role in Oba Nethuwa Oba Ekka.

The Best Director award was presented to Prasanna Vithanage for the film Oba Nethuwa Oba Ekka, the Best Film award went to Maharaja Gemunu Best upcoming Actor Ishara Wickremasinghe (Ira Sevaya), Best upcoming Actress Anitya Subasinghe (Ho Gana Pokuna).

The most popular film award was bagged by the film Maharaja Gemunu.

(Excerpts from Dailynews)