Kamal & Kumara Thirimadura shine at Presidential Cinema Awards



The 20th Presidential Cinema Awards ceremony was held yesterday (November 14), at the Nelum Pokuna Mahinda Rajapaksa Theatre, Colombo.

President Ranil Wickremesinghe attended as Chief Guest while Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena and Transport, Highways and Mass Media Minister – Dr. Bandula Gunawardhana were Guests of Honour.

The event, which was not held since 2019 due to the Covid-19 pandemic, handed over 53 awards after reviewing 42 films screened in 2019 and 2020.

The Best Actor awards in 2019 and 2020 went to Kamal Addaraarachchi (Ginnen Upan Seethala) and Kumara Thirimadura (The Newspaper) respectively.

The Best Actress awards in 2019 and 2020 went to Samadhi Laksiri (Dekala Purudu Kenek) and Nita Fernando (Panshu) respectively.

One of the most beloved and iconic musicians in the country Kalasoori Nanda Malini received a special award from the President at the awards ceremony.


Exit mobile version