Oct 19, 2018

NPC term ends

The term of the Northern Provincial Council that was set up after the end of the war, will end on November 25, according to the  Governor’s office. 

The first election for the NPC was held on September 21, 2013 and the first NPC session was held at the Jaffna, Kaithady Provincial Council complex  on October 25, 2013.

The NPC has 38 members while the TNA has 30 seats, UPFA 7 seats and SLMC one seat.

Former Supreme Court Judge C.V. Wigneswaran was appointed as the first Chief Minister of the NPC as the TNA won 78% of the votes.

The Northern Provincial Council first election results are as follows.

Party               number of votes          percentage      number of seats

TNA                353595 78.                 48%                 30

UPFA              82838                         18.38%            7

SLMC             6761                           1.50%              1

Other parties   7380                           1.64%              0

Total                450574                       100.00%          38

The first NP Chief Minister C.V. Wigneswaran received his appointment from the then Northern Governor Maj. Gen. G.A. Chandrasiri on October 01, 2013 while he took oaths as the Chief Minister before the former President Mahinda Rajapaksa on October 07, 2013.

Subsequently, the other NPC members took their oaths before the Chief Minister Wigneswaran on October 11, 2013.

The first Opposition Leader of the NPC K.Kamalendran was appointed but as he was implecated in a murder case, his term ended on April 7, 2014 and S. Thavarajah took up the post of Opposition Leader on April 09, 2014.

After the term of the NPC ends, the powers of the NPC would be handed over to the Northern Governor Reginald Cooray.

Pics by Madawa Kulasooriya- Vavuniya Corr.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.