Jan 20, 2019

Ministerial positions for SLFP MPs in govt. Featured

There is a proposal to grant ministerial positions for the SLFP MPs who have joined the government, according to minister Navin Dissanayake.

He made the remark while answering questions posed by journalists following a function at Ipalogama in Anuradhapura yesterday (19).

Dissanayake said ministerial positions have been proposed for Vijithamuni Soyza, Piyasena Gamage and A.H.M. Fowzie.

He said the remaining state and deputy ministers would be sworn-in soon following consultations between the president and the prime minister.

12 SLFP MPs to become independent

Meanwhile, certain social media say 12 SLFP MPs have discussed becoming independently in parliament.

They include four of the six SLFP MPs who are already with the government.

Gamage and Lakshman Seneviratne have decided to join the UNP.