Mar 14, 2019

How SLFP's stand on budget changed! Featured

The SLFP-MPs had not attended the budget vote due to a technical matter, said Joint Opposition MP Vasudeva Nanayakkara.

He noted that in voting against the budget, they would also be voting against the expenditure heads of the President, who is their leader. Therefore they had refrained from voting.

Despite Vasudeva’s claims, during 2001 to 2003 when Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunge was the President and leader of the SLFP, the SLFP MPs had voted against budget presented by the UNP government.

According to SLFP internal sources, the SLFP members had refrained from voting against the budget in response to a request made by the President.

Although the SLFP had initially decided to vote against the budget, they had later refrained from voting, said MP Dilan Perera during the committee stage.
However, he said he had gone against that decision and voted against the budget.

He also stated that even if his party votes against the abolition of the Executive Presidency, he would vote in favour.

Mahinda disgruntled over Maithri’s influence:

However, Mahinda Rajapaksa noted that the SLFP-MP’s who had agreed to vote against the budget, later deciding to refrain from voting was a sad situation.

He made this comment in response to media queries during his attendance at the movie premier of ‘Ginnen Upan Seethala’ yesterday.

He noted that the saddest part of this year’s budget was that a group of SLFP-MPs had walked away without voting against the budget.

Rajapaksa warned that by this budget being passed the people of the country would feel the dangerous effects of it in the future.