Apr 10, 2019

First Presidential Media Awards today

The inaugural Presidential Media Awards will be held today (10) at the BMICH in Colombo under the patronage of the President Maithripala Sirisena and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremasinghe.

The awards ceremony is held with the objective to evaluate the mission carried out by journalists as well as their contribution to the field for establishing an excellent media culture in the country.

The primary objective of organizing this award ceremony on annual basis is to evaluate skills, talents and special capabilities of journalists towards ushering in a media culture with social responsibility.

Accordingly, only the creative work done within the period between 01.01.2017 and 31.12.2017 were considered for awards. Fifty one awards including four life time achievements will be presented today.

Dr. Edwin Ariyadasa in the field of Print Media, Mr.Karunarathna Amarasinghe in the field of Radio, Mr. Lucien Bulathsinhala in the field of Television media and Mr. Lakshman Jayawardene for the contribution in the field of web media are to be lauded for lifetime achievements.