Jun 10, 2019

LIST: 2020 Srilankan Holidays

A gazette has been issued to announce the days which would be declared as both public and bank holidays in 2020.

Vajira Abeywardena in his capacity as Minister of Internal & Home Affair had issued the gazette notification.

Accordingly, the list of public and bank holidays for next year are as follows:

January 10 (Friday) - Duruthu Full Moon Poya Day
January 15 (Wednesday) - Tamil Thai Pongal Day
February 04 (Tuesday) - National Day
February 08 (Saturday) - Nawam Full Moon Poya Day
February 21 (Friday) - Mahasivarathri Day
March 09 (Monday) - Madin Full Moon Poya Day
April 07 (Tuesday) - Bak Full Moon Poya Day
April 10 (Friday) - Good Friday
April 12 (Sunday) - Day prior to Sinhala & Tamil New Year Day
April 13 (Monday) - Sinhala and Tamil New Year Day
May 01 (Friday) - May Day
May 07 (Thursday) - Vesak Full Moon Poya Day
May 08 (Friday) - Day following Vesak Full Moon Poya Day
May 25 (Monday) - Id-Ul-Fitr (Ramazan Festival Day)
June 05 (Friday) - Poson Full Moon Poya Day
July 04 (Saturday) - Esala Full Moon Poya Day
August 01 (Saturday) - Id-Ul-Alha (Hadji Festival Day)
August 03 (Monday) - Nikini Full Moon Poya Day
September 01 (Tuesday) Binara Full Moon Poya Day
October 01 (Thursday) - Adhi-Vap Full Moon Poya Day
October 30 (Friday) - Milad-Un-Nabi (Holy Prophet’s Birthday)
October 30 (Friday) - Vap Full Moon Poya Day
November 14 (Saturday) - Deepavali Festival Day
November 29 (Sunday) - Ill Full Moon Poya Day
December 25 (Friday) - Christmas Day
December 29 (Tuesday) - Unduvap Full Moon Poya Day

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

Top