Jul 02, 2019

All parties leave President except Douglas and ASP

It is reported that 15 out of the 17 parties that had allied with the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) leader and President Maithripala Sirisena had left the alliance.

Eelam People's Democratic Party (EPDP) and the Labor Party are the only parties currently supporting the President.

Douglas Devananda is the leader of the Eelam People's Democratic Party and the leader of the Labor Party is former Ambassador to Qatar A.S.P Liyanage.

It is reported that the party that left the President last was National Congress led by A.L.M. Athaullah.

It is said that many of these parties have joined Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) and are continuously discussing with the party's founder, Basil Rajapaksa, regarding the candidate for the next presidential election, the name of the alliance, agenda and the symbol.

Meanwhile, reliable sources say that it is Sarath Keerthirathne who has mediated the process of changing alliances.