Sep 20, 2019

2 more presidential candidates from Basil apart from Gota Featured

Two former MPs and another female contender had made their deposits to the Election Commission yesterday (19). 

A former JVP-MP S. Amarasinghe, former MP of the Democratic Party Jayantha Ketagoda and Sri Lanka Socialist Party candidate Ajantha Perera made their deposits to the Election Commission yesterday.

The elections Commission announced that so far 17 candidates from political parties and independent candidates had notified the Election Commission of their desire to contest, prior to the announcement of the presidential election date.

An Election Commission officer said that they would be making their deposits within the next few days.

He noted that it is expected that around 20 candidates would be contesting this upcoming presidential election.

There are around 70 accepted political parties but due to various errors and complications, seven (07) of these parties cannot contest an election, this official further added.

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka Mirror learns that two of the candidates who had made their deposits yesterday (19) are alternative candidates fielded by SLPP Founder Basil Rajapaksa.