Sep 21, 2019

Six presidential candidates pay deposits Featured

Six presidential candidates who wishes to contest the upcoming presidential election had paid their deposits to the Election Commission by yesterday (20), it is reported.

Among them are the SLPP candidate Gotabhaya Rajapaksa, former MPs Aperekke Pugngnananda Thera, Jayantha Ketagoda, S. Amarasinghe, Professor Ajantha Perera and Saman Prasanna Perera.

In order to contest the presidential election, an independent candidate needs to pay a deposit of Rs. 75,000 and candidates contesting from accepted political parties need to pay Rs. 50,000 deposit.

The last date for candidates to pay their deposits for the presidential election is October 06th.