Nov 22, 2019

16 senior police officers receive new appointments and transfers

Sixteen top police officers have been given new appointments and transfers, with the approval of the National Police Commission Police Headquarters said.

Senior Deputy Inspector General SM Wickremasinghe has been assigned the duties of the Eastern Province in addition to the duties as Senior DIG in-charge of the Central and Uva provinces.

In addition, DIGs LS Pathinayake, WMM Wickremasinghe and RMNGO Perera, EMUV Gunaratne, KNJ Wedasinghe, DJ Palihakkara, LKJGS Peiris and LPSP Sandungahawatte have been transferred and assigned new duties, Police Headquarters stated.

Two Senior Superintendents of Police and five Assistant Superintendents of Police have also been transferred.

Meanwhile, SSP Shani Abeysekara, Director of the Criminal Investigations Department (CID) has been transferred as the personal assistant of the Galle DIG. A spokesperson of the police said that the approval of the police commission has been granted for the transfer.