Sathosa Ad Final Eng 1
new year 2018 eng
Feb 02, 2017

Navin Dissanayake follows Rajapaksas’ footsteps! Featured

The Tea Smallholdings Development Authorty has 15 members in its director board, although the relevant act permits only 13 members.

Normally, one member is appointed on official capacity, but this time two have been appointed.

They are Sri Lanka Tea Board chairman Rohan Pethiyagoda, a relative of plantation industries minister Navin Dissanayake, and tea commissioner E.A.J.K. Edirisinghe.

As per the relevant act, the director board should have two trade union representatives, but that has not been done.

Allowances raised

Previously, a member was paid Rs. 4,000 for attending a board meeting.

After Dissanayake took over the ministry, he raised the payment to Rs. 6,000 and added a transport allowance of Rs. 8,000.

Tea smallholders are reluctant to attend the board meetings as Dissanayake has appointed persons having no subject knowledge, such as Ayurvedic doctors.

At most, around eight members are present at the meetings.

Industry experts say Dissanayake is following the footsteps of the Rajapaksas who were known to be wastrels during their rule.


Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.