Mar 02, 2020

Sirisena refuses national list nomination Featured

Former President Maithripala Sirisena has turned down a request made by some senior party members to be elected to parliament under the national list of the Sri Lanka Podujana Nidahas Sandhanaya. 

He had said that despite the opinions of his by some parties, he would only come to parliament through the people’s mandate.

The national list of the Sri Lanka Nidahas Podujana Sandhanaya is said to have already been completed, but its details are being kept secret.

According to very reliable sources, the names of Prof. G.L. Peiris, Attorney Sagara Kariyawasam, President’s Counsel Ali Sabri, former Central Bank Governor Ajith Nivad Cabraal, Gevindu Kumaranatunge and Wimal Geeganage have been proposed to be included in the national list.

It is also said that the names of two Viyathmaga members would be included in the national list together with two SLFP members, while four slots have been allocated for the minor parties.

Meanwhile, a waiting list has been prepared to fill the vacant slots no sooner the list of MPs is declared based on the final ballet results.