Mar 22, 2020

Curfew extended in 5 Northern districts

Curfew has been extended in five districts of the Northern region, the presidential secretariat states.

In a statement, the presidential secretariat says that curfew imposed in the districts of Mannar, Vavuniya, Mullaitivu, Kilinochchi and Jaffna has been extended until 6.00am on Tuesday (24) and will be reimposed again at 2.00pm on the same day.

Residents in these districts are restricted from travelling to other districts.

The media release states that these travel restrictions will be in place until all close contacts of the Swiss pastor who recently visited the region, are identified.

The government urges the public to cooperate in order to ensure the success of the measures taken to safeguard the civilians in the Northern region from the Covid-19 threat.