Jun 02, 2020

General Election : SC dismisses FR petitions 

The Supreme Court today (02) refused to grant leave to proceed on several Fundamental Rights petitions and dismissed them.

These include the petitions challenging the date of the General Election announced by the National Election Commission  (June 20) and the gazette issued by the President dissolving Parliament among other petitions.

7 petitions and 13 intervening petitions were filed.

Subsequently, a five judge bench comprising Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya and Justices Buwaneka Aluvihare, Sisira De Abrew, Priyantha Jayawardena and Vijith Malalgoda was appointed to consider the FR petitions.