Jun 03, 2020

2 Presidential Task forces appointed

A gazette (Extraordinary) has announced that the President has appointed two new Task forces.

A disciplined, secure society

The first one is a 13-member Presidential Task Force appointed to build a secure country, disciplined, virtuous and lawful society.

The Task Force is chaired by the Defence Secretary -  Rt. Major General Kamal Gunaratne.

The Task Force is expected take immediate steps to curb illegal activities of social groups that violate the law that is emerging as harmful to the free and peaceful existence of society in some places of the country and take necessary measures for the prevention of the drug menace, prevent entry of drugs from overseas through ports and airports and to fully eradicate drug trafficking in the country and prevent other social illnesses caused by drug abuse.

The Task Force is also vested with the responsibility of investigating and preventing any illegal and antisocial activities in and around prisons.

Archaeological heritage management

The other is a 11-member Presidential Task Force appointed for archaeological heritage management in the Eastern Province.

The Task Force is expected to identify sites of archaeological importance in the Eastern Province, identify and implement an appropriate program for the management of archaeological heritage by conserving and restoring such identified sites and antiquities.

The committee is also vested with the tasks of identifying the extent of land that should be allocated for archaeological sites and take necessary measures to allocate them suitably and legally and preserve the cultural value of such sites and promote the uniqueness of Sri Lanka, both locally and internationally, and make recommendations for the promotion of such heritages.