Aug 10, 2020

President tipped for cabinet ministerial portfolio? Featured

The swearing in ceremony of the new SLPP Cabinet will be held at the Audience Hall, Magul Maduwa, Kandy under the patronage of President Gotabaya Rajapaksa on Wednesday, August 12.

It is said that President Gotabhaya Rajapaksa too will hold a ministerial portfolio after it was suggested that he should take up the Ministry of Buddha Sasana and Cultural Affairs. 

Reports also say that the new cabinet is said to be limited to 26 ministers. 

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa is said to be sworn in as the Minister of Finance as well as minister of Housing & Construction.

Chamal Rajapaksa will be sworn in as the Minister of Irrigation while Namal Rajapaksa will be sworn in as the Minister of Sports, sources from the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) say.

Meanwhile, Prof. G.L. Mr. Peiris and Dinesh Gunawardena have been tipped for the ministries of Education and External Affairs respectively. 

According to sources, elected SLPP candidates have been tipped for ministries as follows : 

Pavithra Waniniarachchi  - Ministry of Health

Mahindananda Aluthgamage - Ministry of AgriculturePrasanna Ranatunga - Ministry of Tourism and Civil Aviation.

Keheliya Rambukwella - Ministry of MediaAli Sabri - Ministry of Justice

In addition, it is reported that newly elected candidates Dr. Nalaka Godahewa, Dr. Sarath Weerasekera and Jeevan Thondaman too, will be given cabinet ministerial posts.

Dinesh in hot water!

Meanwhile, it is reported that parties supporting the SLPP are concerned about Dinesh Gunawardena's Mahajana Eksath Peramuna being given a National List MP seat. Dinesh secured the 7th highest number of preferential votes from Colombo district. 

It is said that Wimal Weerawansa's National Freedom Front are among the concerned parties as the NFF too was granted just one National List seat despite securing 06 seats at the election.

Meanwhile, it has also been alleged that affiliated parties such as Douglas Devananda's Eelam People's Democratic Party (EPDP), Ape Janabala Pakshaya, A.L.M. Athaulla's National Congress, Sri Lanka Freedom Party and Asanka Navaratne's Sri Lanka Mahajana Party had not been given any National List MP seats.

More eyebrows have been raised over Dinesh naming his son Yadamini for the sole National List MP seat. On two earlier occasions, Dinesh had given the opportunity to his brother - Geethanjana.