Sep 28, 2020

39 petitions filed against 20A

A five-member Supreme Court bench chaired by Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya has been appointed to consider the petitions filed against the 20th Amendment to the Constitution.

The five-judge-bench comprising Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya, Justices Buwaneka Aluwihare, Justice Sisira de Abrew, Justice Priyantha Jayawardena and Justice Vijith Malalgoda is to hear the petitions from tomorrow (29).

Twenty-one (21) petitions were filed before the Supreme Court today challenging the proposed 20th Amendment, bringing the total number of petitions filed so far to 39.