Dec 05, 2020

Appointments to two commissions delayed Featured

The Parliament has decided to appoint members to five independent commissions and has postponed the appointment of members to two commissions.

Accordingly, Chairpersons and members have been appointed to the Election Commission, the Bribery or Corruption Commission, the Public Service Commission, the Finance Commission and the National Police Commission.

However, the appointing members to the Human Rights Commission and the Delimitation Commission established for the delimitation of the electoral districts has been delayed.

It has been delayed as nominations for these commissions have to be obtained from the leaders of political parties as well.

It is also reported that there is a legal norm that there should be representation for the major ethnic groups in the country, especially in the appointment of the Human Rights Commission and the Delimitation Commission.