Oct 25, 2021

Transfers to 30 heads of state institutions

It is reported that the government has decided to remove the heads of about 30 government institutions and appoint new ones.

The 30 agencies include the Child Protection Authority, the Geological Survey and Mines Bureau, the Sri Lanka Standards Institution and a major state media institution.

Meanwhile, the government had planned to remove the Chief Secretary of the Western Provincial Council Jayanthi Wijetunga from her post and appoint her as the Chairperson of the Child Protection Authority.

However, the appointment had reportedly been cancelled due to the Public Administration Officers' Association raising objections with the President against her transfer.

Dr. Nihal Jayatilleke, who is currently the Chairman of the Sri Lanka Standards Institution, is to be offered a Ministry Secretary post and Eranda Ginige will replace him as the Chairman of the Standards Institution.

Sharmila Rajapaksa, who served at the Presidential Media Unit, has been appointed to fill the vacant post of Director of the Department of National Zoology.

Meanwhile, Dr. Jagath Wellawatte’s appointment as the  Australian High Commissioner has been cancelled by the President and her has been appointed as Sri Lanka's Ambassador to Italy instead.