Nov 10, 2021

Changes made to One Country One Law Task Force

An Extraordinary Gazette Notification has been issued with amendments to the Presidential Task Force on ‘One Country, One Law’.

According to the new Gazette issued, the President has appointed three new members to the Task Force “taking into consideration the representations made by various parties with regard to the composition of the membership and Terms of Reference of the said Task Force and, focusing on the need for the pluralistic character and gender equity of the Sri Lankan Society to be reflected in the composition of the membership of this Task Force, as per the terms of reference of the Task Force.”

Ramalingam Chakrawarthy Karunakaran, Yogeswari Patgunarajah and Iyyampillai Dayanandaraja have been appointed as new members of the task force which was appointed by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

Meanwhile, the gazette also states that Professor Dayananda Banda and Lecturer Mohomad Inthikab have relinquished their memberships of the Task Force.

The Gazette notification, issued on Nov. 06 by the secretary to the President - P.B. Jayasundera, on President’s command, is as follows :

special gazette1

special gazette2