Aug 01, 2022

Travel ban on MR & BR extended

The Supreme Court has extended the international travel ban imposed on Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa, and former Minister Basil Rajapaksa and several others till the 4th of August.

The order was issued by a five-member Supreme Court bench headed by Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya preventing the group from leaving the country without court’s permission.

A petition was filed seeking an order to impose an international travel ban on former President Mahinda Rajapaksa, former Minister of Finance Basil Rajapaksa, former Governors of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka Ajith Nivard Cabraal and WD Lakshman and former Secretary to the Treasury SR Attygalle.

The petition filed by several factions including the former Chairman of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce Chandra Jayaratne claimed the group was responsible for the financial crisis in the country.


(Except for the headline, this story, originally published by has not been edited by SLM staff)