Aug 15, 2022

SLPP demands 16 cabinet ministerial posts! Featured

The Sri Lanka Podujana Party (SLPP) has reportedly recommended to President Ranil Wickremesinghe that 16 district leaders of the party should be given cabinet ministerial portfolios since several parties have refused to join efforts to form an all party government.

The Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB), National Peoples' Power (NPP), Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) and the Tamil National Alliance (TNA) have expressed unwillingness so far.

Some of these SLPP members already hold Cabinet ministerial positions.

In addition, S.M. Chandrasena, Pavithra Wanniarachchi, Johnston Fernando, Rohitha Abeygunawardena, C.B. Ratnayake and Namal Rajapaksa have been recommended for cabinet ministries by the SLPP.

However, it is said that SLPP Matara district leader Mr. Dallas Alahapperuma is not included in this list.

Reports also say that it is likely Chamal Rajapaksa will not accept a ministerial post although he is the leader of Hambantota district.

Related News :

Malik to reconcile Ranil - Sajith!