Jun 20, 2017

No Sri Lankans in ICC Champions Trophy 2017 team

The International Cricket Council has taken measures to name the Team of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017.

The jury comprising cricket experts, which included former captains Michael Atherton of England, India’s Sourav Ganguly, Ramiz Raja of Pakistan as well as Lawrence Booth and Julian Guyer, with ICC General Manager – Cricket, Geoff Allardice, as chairman, was tasked with picking a balanced side on the basis of performances in the recently concluded tournament.

However, none of the Sri Lankan players were included in the team, while one Bangladesh player has been included in the team. None of the players from the Australian and South African teams have been included in the team of the ICC Champions Trophy either.

The team of the ICC Champions Trophy includes players from five of the eight participating sides, with Pakistan’s Sarfraz Ahmed as captain.

The Team of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 (in batting order) is:

i) Shikhar Dhawan (India)

ii) Fakhar Zaman (Pakistan) 

iii) Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh)

iv) Virat Kohli (India)

v) Joe Root (England)

vi) Ben Stokes (England)

vii) Sarfraz Ahmed (Pakistan) (captain) (wicketkeeper)

viii) Adil Rashid (England)

ix) Junaid Khan (Pakistan)

x) Bhuvneshwar Kumar (India)

xi) Hassan Ali (Pakistan)

xii) Kane Williamson (New Zealand)