Jul 01, 2017

Eighteen SLFP members to leave government: T.B. Featured

As the agreement of the consensus government comes to an end this September, 18 SLFP Ministers including himself have decided to leave their posts, State Land Minister T.B. Ekanayake had told a weekend newspaper.  

He said among them were a group of SLFP seniors as well.

He further said, “We entered into an agreement for a period of two years. In September that time will end. We have honoured out promise. Hence we will leave out ministerial posts and leave the government. Currently there are 18 of us wanting to leave.”

However, when we contacted the UPFA General Secretary and Fisheries Minister Mahinda Amaraweera regarding the statement made by Minister Ekanayake, he said the party had not taken such a decision and the President too had not been notified of such a decision.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.