Arumugam Thondaman  has the least attendance Arumugam Thondaman has the least attendance
Sep 05, 2017

How our MPs dodge House sittings! Featured

Eighteen MPs had attended less than five sittings of parliament, out of a total of 21 sittings during the May-July period this year. which analyses the conducts of the MP has published the MPs’ attendance at House sittings for public information, according to BBC Sinhala Service.

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya and 13 MPs have attended all the 21 sessions during the three month period under review.

MP with the least attendance

CWC leader Arumugam Thondaman has the least attendance, taking part in just one sitting.

State minister Mohanlal Grero and UPFA MP Premalal Jayasekara have both attended two sittings only.

There are four sittings marked against minister Palani Digambaram and SLFP general secretary, minister Duminda Dissanayake.

Attendance allowance raised

To encourage MPs’ attendance at parliament sittings, the Rs. 500 attendance allowance was raised to Rs. 2,500 in the beginning of this year.

Forty three MPs had between 25 per cent and 50 pc attendance, 74 MPs had between 51 pc and 75 pc attendance and 90 MPs had between 76 pc and 90 pc attendance.

Remain for the first one hour only

Even those who attend the sittings remain in the House for the first one hour only, a spokesman for the office of the secretary general of parliament said.

may july
MPs’ attendance

Once, prime minister Ranil Wickremesinghe told newly-elected MPs that a parliamentarian was there not to attend funerals and weddings only.

Speaker Jayasuriya recently said that there were some members who had not attended a single meeting of COPE and other parliamentary committees.