Nov 11, 2017

Parliament under three Municipal Councils Featured

Megapolis and Western Development Minister Patali Champika Ranawaka pointed out to the Cabinet that the Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte parliament complex and its surrounding land comes under three Municipal Councils.

Accordingly, a part of the parliament complex comes under the Kotte Municipal Council, another section to the Maharagama Municipal Council and another section comes under the jurisdiction of the Kaduwela Municipal Council, he said.

“This is an amazing situation,” said Minister Ranawaks adding that a separate determination of boundaries should be carried out and the whole parliament should be made into one administrative unit.