Jan 17, 2018

India & Sri Lanka expand IT cooperation

India’s Minister of Law & Justice and Electronics & Information Technology Ravi Shankar Prasad, visited Sri Lanka recently. He called on President Maithripala Sirisena and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, He had detailed discussions on furthering bilateral cooperation in ICT sector with Harin Fernando, Minister of Telecommunication and Digital Infrastructure of Sri Lanka.

Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad noted India’s commitment to share the fruits of the ambitious Digital India programme with Government of Sri Lanka. He underlined the importance of digital inclusion, the need to use IT to uplift the people at the grassroots level, and the need for benefits of IT to percolate to the most needy.

An MoU for cooperation in IT & Electronics was signed between Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad and Minister Harin Fernando. The scope of MoU inter alia includes e-Governance, m-Governance, e-Public Services Delivery including e-learning, tele-medicine, cyber security etc.

A pilot programme on E-Office, an electronic platform developed by National Informatics Centre of India (NIC), which enables conduct of office procedures electronically was launched in Sri Lanka. The E-office platform is widely used in Govt. offices in India and has transformed the government functioning to a more efficient and transparent mode, removing the need for processing/storage of conventional paper files.

A knowledge partnership between National Knowledge Network (NKN) of India and Lanka Education And Research Network (LEARN) of Sri Lanka was also launched. This would enable secure and reliable connectivity between educational institutions of India and Sri Lanka under a Ultra High Bandwidth network. In one of its kind, several Universities in India and Sri Lanka were linked through a Digital Video Conference during the launch.
Sri Lankan Universities would now be able to connect with Educational Institutions in Europe also through the network.

Top educational institutions in India & Sri Lanka are now connected through NKN such as IIT, Delhi, IISC, Bengaluru, JIPMER, Puducherry, MSU & MKU from India & Open University, Universities of Jayewardenepura, Ruhuna, Jaffna, Moratuwa, Rajarata and Eastern University from Sri Lanka.

India remains committed to offer all assistance to Sri Lanka, based on Sri
Lanka’s priorities and requirements.

india cyber deal 1

india cyber deal 2

india cyber deal 3

india cyber deal 4

india cyber deal 5

india cyber deal 6

india cyber deal 7

india cyber deal 8