Feb 12, 2018

6 appointed MPs lost their electorates at LG polls

Five ministers who got appointed to parliament following their defeats at the last general election lost their electorates at the just-concluded local government polls.

They are Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka (Kelaniya), Mahinda Samarasinghe (Panadura), S.B. Dissanayake (Hewaheta), Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena (Hakmana) and Wijith Wijayamuni Soyza (Bibile).

Also Thilanga Sumathipala, who came to parliament on the national list and presently the deputy speaker, lost his Borella electorate at the LG polls.

Political analysts note that these six who hold positions without a public mandate do not portray representative democracy, but go against it.

Especially, Fonseka contested from Colombo as leader of the Democratic Party, but polled only 5,238 votes at the last general election, while his party obtained a mere 28,587, or 0.26 per cent, of the votes countrywide.