Maithripala Sirisena refused to step down as SLFP chairman & function impartially in his position Maithripala Sirisena refused to step down as SLFP chairman & function impartially in his position
Feb 14, 2018

UNP, SLFP ministers to meet today to take final decision! Featured

Following today’s (14) cabinet meeting, UNP ministers are due to meet with their SLFP colleagues to discuss their next moves following the local government polls.

The talks come after a discussion last night between president Maithripala Sirisena and UNF ministers who informed him that Ranil Wickremesinghe would continue to be the prime minister.

A minister who attended the meeting said a committee would be appointed in consultation with the SLFP ministers to make suggestions for the continuation of the unity government.

A positive decision

Following their meeting with the president, minister Sajith Premadasa said the two sides would have talks today and take a positive decision that would be for the welfare of the people.

In response to a request by the PM to take a decision by the coming weekend, the president said the decision should be quicker than that.

Noting the people were asking for a change that could be felt, the president said that that change could likely be in the premiership.

RanjanRamanayaka 600px 16 11 29

Both sides are to be blamed for LG polls setback Ranjan Ramanayake

Deputy minister Ranjan Ramanayake, who was especially invited for the discussion, said both sides were to be blamed for the setback at the LG polls.

The mistakes should be corrected and the promises given to 6.2 million voters delivered at least hereafter, he stressed.

President Maithripala Sirisena has rejected a request that he should step down as the SLFP chairman and function impartially in his position.

SLFP spokesman Dilan Perera has previously said that they would not remain in a government in which Wickremesinghe would continue to be the premier.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.