Feb 14, 2018

Battle begins to appoint Nimal Siripala as PM!

A group of politicians are holding discussions with former president Mahinda Rajapaksa to appoint minister Nimal Siripala de Silva as Prime minister.

The group includes Ven. Rathana Thera, deputy Speaker Thilanga Sumathipala and MP Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe.

The discussion with the former president was initiated after a meeting today (14) between president Maithripala Sirisena and SLFP MPs.

Following the meeting with SLFP MPs, the president had summoned Minister Nimal Siripala and said that if it was required to form a SLFP government he was not against appointing the minister as the Premier. However, minister de Silva would give prove that he secured the majority of 113 MPs by 2.00pm tomorrow (15) if it was possible.

Meanwhile, it is said that ministers Mahinda Amaraweera, Faiszer Musthapha and Duminda Dissanayake, Vijith Wijayamuni de Soyza are maintaining a firm stance that they will not back Mahinda Rajapaksa to form a government.

It is also reported that the above mentioned group of politicians led by Ven. Rathana Thera are holding discussions with minister Rishad Bathiudeen as well to form a government.

The SLFP holds 96 seats in parliament and in order to obtain the majority they should have 113 MPs to back them.