Mar 02, 2018

Even with President’s approval, OMP hangs in the balance Featured

President Maithripala Sirisena appointed the Commissioners to the Office of the Missing Persons (OMP) on February 28, 2018, but it is still uncertain when they would commence their duties, said the Chairman of the OMP Saliya Peiris.

Although the establishment is legally established, there is still no office or staff for its physical functioning, and the appointed Commissioners are expected to meet next week and discuss the mechanism for the establishment of the OMP, said Saliya Peiris.

While he serves as the Chairman, the rest of the committee are Jayadeepa Punyamoorthy, Retired Major General Mohanthi Antonynum Peiris, Dr. Sriyani Nimalka Fernando, Miraq Rahim, Somasiri K. Liyanage and Kanapathipillai Venthan and they have been appointed for a term of three years.

The OMP Act was passed in parliament in August 2016, while the President approved it and signed it in June 2017.