Mar 17, 2018

UNP changes amidst no confidence! Featured

In the midst signatures being gathered for a no confidence motion against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, Sirikotha sources said that a comprehensive restructuring of the UNP is being organised. 

It is said that party leader Ranil Wickremesinghe intends on vesting most of the powers entrusted to the leadership, with the youth leaders.

Accordingly, Sajith Premadasa, Navin Dissanayake, Ranjith Maddumabandara, Akila Viraj Kariyawasam and Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka will be entrusted with broad powers.

It is also reported that suggestions have been made to create a transitional leadership position and appoint Minister Lakshman Kiriella to that post.

New officers prior to March 31:

Meanwhile, Minister Sagala Ratnayake said that new officers of the UNP would be appointed by March 31.
In a twitter message by him, he notes that several rounds of discussions were held within the party with regard to the new appointments.

He further noted that the Prime Minister had appointed several committees pertaining to the party’s restructuring process and the government’s future course of action.

Sagala Tweet 17 03 18