Mar 20, 2018

UNP to have four more deputy leaders Featured

The UNP is to bring about an extensive reorganizing of the party on the basis of the recommendations of a committee headed by minister Ruwan Wijewardena.

The committee report was handed over to party leader, prime minister Ranil Wickremesinghe before the party’s parliamentary group meeting yesterday (19).

Sirikotha sources say there will be four new deputy leaders for the party in addition to incumbent deputy leader Ravi Karunanayake, with the nominees being Mangala Samaraweera, Ranjith Madduma Bandara, Sarath Fonseka and Thalatha Athukorale.

Kabir Malik 670px 20 03 18
Malik’s party chairmanship to go to Kabir

Also, the party chairmanship, currently held by Malik Samarawickrama, is proposed to go to incumbent general secretary Kabir Hashim, who is to be replaced by Akila Viraj Kariyawasam.

Harin Fernando is tipped to be appointed the new national organizer.

The Wijewardena committee also proposes to devolve the party leader’s powers to the young leadership of the party, including Kariyawasam, Sajith Premadasa and Navin Dissanayake.

New officials before March 31

Meanwhile, Sagala Ratnayake has tweeted that the new officials of the UNP will be appointed before March 31.

Several rounds of discussions have been held with a number of internal committees on new appointments, he adds.


Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.