Apr 04, 2018

Ranil has the backing of 10 SLFP MPs! Featured

SLFP’s Duminda Dissanayake, Vijith Vijayamuni Soyza and A.H.M. Fowzie are most likely to support prime minister Ranil Wickremesinghe when the no-confidence motion against him is voted on tonight (04), say party sources.

Also, Sarath Amunugama, Mahinda Amaraweera, Ranjith Siyambalapitiya, Piyasena Gamage, Manusha Nanayakkara, Mahinda Samarasinghe and H.R. Sarathi Dushmantha have decided to abstain, according to the sources.

These 10 MPs have taken their decisions pursuant to an advice by president Maithripala Sirisena to SLFP parliamentarians to take a decision in accordance with their conscience.

SLFP in ‘an unnecessary dispute’

DumindaDissanayake 670px 17 02 13
SLFP is still undecided – general secretary

Duminda Dissanayake, the SLFP general secretary, has told BBC Sinhala Service that his party has got involved in ‘an unnecessary dispute.’

He said the party was still undecided on the joint opposition-moved no-confidence motion, other than asking the PM to resign.

Aim is to create a crisis in the govt.

Dissanayake also said the JO expected by this move to create a crisis in the government and to strengthen itself politically, pointing out the remark by ex-president Mahinda Rajapaksa that the fate of the no-confidence motion was in the hands of president Sirisena.

Although it is said to be aimed at the PM, the no-confidence motion is actually one against the president and the others in the government as well, he said.

A unanimous decision
SBDisanayaka 670px 30 12 16

SLFP treasurer S.B. Dissanayake

Meanwhile, SLFP treasurer S.B. Dissanayake says the party unanimously decided to ask the PM to resign, and if not, to vote in support of the no-confidence motion.

Following a 12 hour debate, the no-confidence motion will be voted on at 9.30 pm.

Related articles:

SLFP general secretary opposes no-confidence motion

Will not influence anyone – president