photographic 2
 majority of UNP decides Ranil Wickremesinghe will continue as leader  majority of UNP decides Ranil Wickremesinghe will continue as leader
Apr 08, 2018

Ranil to remain as leader; advisory committee appointed Featured

The UNP leadership will remain unchanged while an advisory committee has been appointed for reshuffling the positions of other top office-bearers, according to a party working committee decision.

The WC met at Temple Trees yesterday (07) to discuss party reforms, MP Wijepala Hettiarachchi said.

Party leader Ranil Wickremesinghe, deputy leader Sajith Premadasa and assistant leader Ravi Karunanayake are automatic members of the committee, while 12 others were elected at a vote.

They are Mangala Samaraweera, Ranjith Maddumabandara, Gayantha Karunatilake, Akila Viraj Kariyawasam, Harin Fernando, J.C. Alawathuwala, Nalin Bandara, Ruwan Wijayawardena, Ashoka Priyantha, Eran Wickremaratne, Ajith P. Perera and Harsha de Silva.

Vajira Abeywardena, Thalatha Athukorale, Daya Gamage, Sujeewa Senasinghe and Buddhika Pathirana contested, but failed to get elected.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.