Apr 08, 2018

Attempt to remove Mahinda & Duminda! Featured

The group of 16 SLFP MPs who backed the recent No-Confidence Motion against PM Ranil Wickremesinghe, has reportedly urged president Maithripala Sirisena to remove Mahinda Amaraweera and Duminda Dissanayake from their General Secretary posts in the UPFA and the SLFP respectively.

The request had been made during a discussion with the president, reports a weekend newspaper.
It is said that the group is to make a request on this regard during the SLFP CC meeting tomorrow (09).
To leave or not to leave
This group has already planned to takeover the power of the SLFP during the party CC meeting. They have also decided to suggest that the SLFP should leave the government and immediately establish itself as a powerful peoples' movement, political sources say.
Sources add that this has also received the approval of the president.
The role of the SLFP in the government would be decided at the SLFP CC meeting.
During a discussion with the PM on April 05, the president had stated that the SLFP will decide whether to leave or stay in the government at the party CC meeting.
Susil Premajayantha, Dayasiri Jayasekara, Chandima Weerakkody, Thilanga Sumathipala, Dilan Perera, Susantha Punchinilame, T.B. Ekanayake, Anuradha Jayaratne, Tharanath Basnayake, Lakshman Wasantha Perera, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, John Seneviratne, Nimal Lansa, S.B. Dissanayake, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena, Sudarshani Fernandopulle and Sumedha G. Jayasena voted in support of the no-confidence motion against the PM on April 04.
The SLFP CC is likely to get heated up when this matter is taken up.

Related News :

Group of 16 to takeover SLFP’s power?