Apr 11, 2018

16 SLFP MPs will sit in the opposition - Mahinda Featured

The 16 SLFP MPs who voted against PM Ranil Wickremesinghe at the no-confidence vote are certain to sit in the opposition at the next sitting of parliament, ex-president Mahinda Rajapaksa has told ‘Divaina.’

The government might not want them, but this group would be accepted by the people with love, he said.

Rajapaksa said that with their support, the joint opposition would become stronger, adding that the people had new hopes with the JO now.

Meanwhile, UPFA general secretary Mahinda Amaraweera says the SLFP will convene a special central committee meeting to take a decision with regard to the 16 MPs.

He also said a cabinet reshuffle would definitely take place and that the president wanted to correct past mistakes and continue with the government.

Related articles:

SLFP MPs will not leave govt. – UPFA general secretary