Apr 13, 2018

Parliament prorogued Featured

The current session of the eight parliament has been prorogued as per a gazette extraordinary signed by president Maithripala Sirisena last night (12).

The next session of the House will commence on May 08.

Sittings were due to commence on April 19 following the New Year.

On that day, the 16 SLFP MPs who voted in support of the no-confidence motion against the PM were due to sit in the opposition.

The reason for the prorogation is not known.

However, the 16 SLFP MPs and the joint opposition have held talks to appoint a new opposition leader once the new parliament session begins.

From April 19, the draft national audit act and judicature amendment bill as well as the JVP’s private member’s motion for a 20th amendment to the constitution to abolish the executive presidency were due to be tabled and debated by the MPs.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.