Apr 19, 2018

Two from ‘Group of 16’ in London to meet president! Featured

Two SLFP members of the ‘Group of 16’, namely Chandima Weerakkody and Dilan Perera, have gone to London to meet president Maithripala Sirisena with a special message, political sources say.
The duo had suddenly left for London after the group held a discussion at the residence of Deputy Speaker Thilanga Sumathipala last night (18).
The group had come to agreement that the president should be pressured to immediately convene the SLFP Central Committee (CC) and they should ensure that a proposal to leave the government is seconded during the CC meeting.
The 16 MPs who voted against PM Wickremesinghe at recent the No-Faith Motion, have been informally referred to as the ‘Group of 16’ since then, among political circles.
TB Ekanayake
Will be seated in the Opposition on May 08 - T.B. Ekanayake
Meanwhile, former state minister of Land - T.B. Ekanayake said that the 16 SLFP MPs would crossover to the opposition when parliament sittings commence on May 08.
Noting that they have already informed opposition MP Dinesh Gunawardena to allot seats for their group, the MP said that relevant measures are underway.
He added that several members of their group would also speak in parliament on May 08.