Dec 08, 2016

11 Industrial & Tech zones to come up in islandwide estates

The government is to setup eleven Industrial and Technological Development Zones islandwide estates with the view of spread the industrial development to rural areas, produce value added products with rural resources, and increase highly paid employment opportunities in villages.

Hence, it has been decided to establish 11 Industrial and Technological Development Zones Island wide and Rs. 500 million has been allocated to establish 04 super zones in Hambantota, Raigama, Mahaoya and Trincomalee.

Accordingly, measures taken by Minister of Industry and Commerce - Rishad Bathiudeen to setup an Industrial and Technological super zone in Raigama in Kaluthara District, were approved by the Cabinet of Ministers.

There is a disparity of inadequate industrial infrastructure facilities between regions and Colombo & suburbs in socio - economic development of the country. The data reveals that 80% of industrial units of the country are located in Western Province.

Therefore, Ministry of Industry & Commerce has launched the "Regional Industrial Estate Development Programme" to promote regional industrialization and to disperse the industrial development activities throughout the country. By introducing the "Regional Industrial estate Development" Programme, which were focused only to Colombo and suburbs from a number of decades have now gone up to rural areas in a considerable level with the development of 15 Industrial Estates all over the country. The ministry assists to the investors for allocate suitable lands with necessary infrastructure facilities to set up their industries under long term lease basis in these Industrial Estates.