JO leaders boycott meeting in protest JO leaders boycott meeting in protest
Jun 06, 2018

JO becomes divided as Mahinda’s instruction gets ignored Featured

The parliamentary vote for the election of a deputy speaker is a case in point that the joint opposition is a divided party, lankacnews reports.

At the secret ballot for the position yesterday (05), UNP’s Ananda Kumarasiri received 97 votes, as against 43 votes by Sudarshani Fernandopulle, the opposition nominee.

That is despite the instruction by ex-president Mahinda Rajapaksa that they should prevent the UNP from securing the position.

Mahinda’s instruction challenged

However, some spoke against Rajapaksa, who said a defeat for the UNP would be a victory for them.

Around 15 JO members avoided the vote.

This is said to be the first time that a JO decision had not been implemented.

To protest this, Dinesh Gunawardena, Vasudeva Nanayakkara, Wimal Weerawansa and Udaya Gammanpila boycotted the JO leaders’ meeting later in the day.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.