Cabinet amendments pushed back, RW opposes to 4 SLPPers



President Ranil Wickremesinghe is to make several changes to the Cabinet after tabling the Budget to parliament, reports say.

According to political sources, several MPs from the Sri Lanka Podujana Party, Samagi Jana Balawegaya as well as from Tamil and Muslim political parties are to be given ministerial or state ministerial portfolios.

Media also reports that around 10 SJB MPs are to cross over to the government.

Meanwhile, it is also said that the subject matter of ministers are also to be changed.

RW says no to 4 SLPP MPs?

According to reports, a special discussion had taken place between the President, the PM and former President Mahinda Rajapaksa, on the impending cabinet changes.

It is reported that the President has expressed his unwillingness to give minister posts to Johnston Fernando, Rohitha Abeygunawardena, Mahindananda Aluthgamage and Namal Rajapaksa representing the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna.

Meanwhile, it is reported that a media house owner has initiated a mission to appoint his close friend Mr. Ali Sabry, the current foreign minister, to the position of finance minister.

It is reported that he started this operation citing the inability of the President to hold the position of Finance Minister after the 21st Amendment.

It is said that another reason for this is the report prepared by the Inland Revenue Department regarding the controversial sugar tax reduction incident, which is to be received by the Minister of State for Finance Ranjith Siyambalapitiya next week.

The State Minister had said that after receiving the report, it will be tabled in Parliament.


Exit mobile version