Aug 08, 2020

New cabinet to take oaths in Kandy - Minister post for Namal

The second cabinet of Gotabaya Rajapaksa's government will be sworn in on Thursday (13 August) at the Magul Maduwa (Audience Hall) of the Kandyan Palace in Kandy.
It is reported that number of subjects have been shuffled in the process of appointing the cabinet.

Accordingly, the new Minister of Education and Higher Education is Prof. G. L Peiris.

Former Minister of Education Dallas Alahapperuma is said to be in charge of the Ministry of Irrigation.

Namal Rajapaksa will hold one of the two Ministries of Youth Affairs or Vocational Training.

It is reported that Udaya Gammanpila will hold the Ministry of Environment and Wildlife.

Ali Sabri, President's Counsel, will be appointed the Minister of Justice.

It is reported that Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Rohitha Abeygunawardena and Vasudeva Nanayakkara are among the new members to be added to the cabinet.

A State Ministry with a new subject related to Economic Affairs is also to be established.

The Ministry will hold the subjects of Samurdhi local economy, micro finance, self employment business development and underutilized state resources development. It is also stated that  Dr. Nalaka Godahewa will be State Minister on the subject.

Former President Maithripala Sirisena has been nominated for the post of Minister of Cultural and National Heritage.

However,it is said that there is a possibility of the subject being changed at the last minute. In addition to that, the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) will be given one more ministerial post.

Furthermore, Ajith Nivard Cabraal and Shehan Semasinghe will be appointed as State Ministers of Finance.