Nov 18, 2017

Dual citizenship holders at state institutions in jeopardy!

President Maithripala Sirisena has ordered the officers of state institutions to prepare a list of the Chairmen and CEOs of state institutions who hold dual citizenship.

The President had decided to look into this matter after MP Geetha Kumarasinghe lost her ministerial post due to her dual citizenship, Litro Gas Chairman Shaleela Munasinghe and former Central Bank Governor Arjun Mahendran facing issues over their dual citizenship and the problems that have arisen.

According to Presidential Secretariat sources, the heads of CPC, State Banka, Ports and Telacom are held by those holding dual citizenship while some do not even have Sri Lankan citizenship.

These persons are those who had fled the country during the Rajapaksa regime and who had returned to the country to take up these high posts after the January 8th election victory.