Parliament approves suspension of Diana, Sujith & Rohana



The motion to suspend State Minister Dinana Gamage and two SJB MPs Sujith Sanjaya Perera and Rohana Bandara for a month was approved in Parliament with a majority of 57 votes.

Some 58 MPs voted in favour and one against. TNA MP M.A. Sumanthiran voted against it. Two government MPs including Minister Vidura Wickramanayake and Mayadunna Chinthaka Amal and Opposition MP. A.H.M Fowzie abstained.

Other Opposition MPs walked out protesting against the decision by the Privileges Committee to change the decision made by the special committee appointed by the Speaker to look into the brawl between State Minister Gamage and two SJB MPs Bandara and Perera.

The motion was put to a vote after heated arguments by MPs of both sides.


Exit mobile version